top of page

Kachumbari

It's #FoodFriday again. The delicious dish of the day is from Tanzania and one of my favs, #Kachumbari. Oh how I love thee. Everytime I hear the word I immediately reminisce of the Sunday dinners with pilau at Bibi’s (grandma) house. Now that I think about it I do not make this dish enough. What is Kachumbari? It’s an East African salad that eats more like a salsa, but don’t dare call it salsa. Call it by its name “kachumbari”.

Classic Tanzanian Kachumbari and Pilau

The recipe varies slightly by region and chef. The key ingredients: red onions, tomatoes, cabbage, and a green herb for color. Variations also include additional vegetables and sometimes fruit.


Zanzibar Style Mango Kachumbari

My recipe is a Tanzanian style which does not put too many tomatoes. Instead it is a perfect balance of colors and textures. This spicy and acidic combination is classically served alongside Pilau. However, I’ve been know to put it on anything that needed some extra flavor. Such as eggs, sandwiches, real salads, any rice dish, tacos, etc... Honestly, I’ve eaten it straight out the bowl before.


I’ve provided a recipe courtesy of Immaculate Bites, because I’ve never measured anything with my recipe. Her picture is awesome and looks close to what I know. So try it and tell me how it turned out @Royalcations

Photo Courtesy of Immaculate Bites


コメント


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page